The EU/EEA countries

The countries in The European Economic Area are either called EU/EEA countries or EEA countries.

The European Economic Area includes the 28 EU member states and the EFTA member states Iceland, Lichtenstein and Norway.

The EFTA member state Switzerland is not a part of The European Economic Area.

These 31 countries are a part of The European Economic Area:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czechia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Great Britain and Northern Ireland *
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

* The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland left the European Union on January 31. 2020. All health care rights will remain throughout a transition period, preliminarily until December 31. 2020. Throughout this transition period, The United Kingdom will be treated as if the country remains a member of the EU/EEA.

Switzerland is also a part of the co-ordination of social security within Europe.